Spencerport Wrestilng on Facebook Spencerport Wrestling on Twitter

2011- 2012 Articles

Jamestown Tournament:

Spencerport Takes Holiday
Classic Title Again

The Post-Journal
Sunday, December 18, 2011

Teike-Bernabi Tournament:

Maier sparks Spencerport at
Teike/Bernabi wrestling tournament

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Sunday, December 30, 2011

Jason DeBruin:

State champion at Spencerport
among new Section V Wrestling

Hall of Famers

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Friday, January 13, 2012

Hilton Tournament:

Fairport's Josh Lackey wins
long-awaited Clayton Barnard

wrestling title

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Sunday, January 15, 2012

Monroe County Tournament:

Spencerport wrestlers stand
test of time

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Saturday, January 21, 2012

Spencerport wins 21st straight
Monroe County wrestling title

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Sunday, January 22, 2012

Brockport Dual Meet:

Spencerport defeats Brockport
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Sunday, January 29, 2012

Section V Class Tournament:

Spencerport claims 11th straight
Class A wrestling title

Messenger Post
Sunday, February 5, 2012

NYS Qualifier Tournament:

Hard work pays off at
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Sunday, February 12, 2012

Spencerport Program:

Seventeen to be inducted in Frontier
Field Walk of Fame:
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Thursday, May 24, 2012

Coach Dan Glover:

Shaking the notebook: New
Spencerport wrestling coach says
he knows exactly what he is
walking into

Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Thursday, June 14, 2012


State champion at Spencerprot among new Section V Wrestling Hall of Famers
James Johnson . Staff writer . January 13, 2012

Jason DeBruin, shown here shaking hands with former Spencerport coach Bill Jacoutot in 1997, is among six new members of the Section V Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Jason DeBruin once was called the "toughest" kid in Monroe County.

The former high school state champion will now be known as one of Section V's all-time best wrestlers.

DeBruin, who went on to win the 1997 135-pound state title as a senior at Spencerport, is among this year's induction class of six headed into the Section V Wrestling Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony is 6 p.m. Feb. 8 at Red Fedele's Brook House.

Restaraunt, 3590 Ridge Road West in Greece. Tickets are $27 per person and must be purchased by Jan. 30. Contact Friends of Wrestling for ticket or any other related information at 585-225-2021 or fmarrotta@rochester.rr.com.

This year's group includes a three champion wrestlers who became coaches.

Jason Bovenzi currently coaches the Pittsford district team, but during his days at Greece Athena, he became a Section V champion and placed fourth in the 1990 state tournament. He was a two-time NCAA Division III champion in college.

John Alessi also became a coach, after he wrestled for Pittsford. Alessi won won Monroe County league championships in 1962 and '63 before he moved on to The College at Brockport.

Shawn Knisely won four sectional titles at Waterloo from 1986-89 as a lightweight. His best finish in at least two appearances at the state tournament was fourth at at 105 pounds. Knisley coaches in Pennsylvania.

Jerry Brunette was a two-time city and Section V champion while at Madison in 1958 and '59. Also a standout football player, Brunette went on to a career as a professional bowler.

Tom Kressly coached 15 Section V class champions from 1972-96 at Hammondsport, where he later became athletic director. Kressly is an assistant coach at The College at Brockport with Don Murray.


Spencerport Central Schools • 71 Lyell Avenue • Spencerport, NY 14559 • Phone: 585-349-5000

Teams | Records | Schedule | Rankings | Articles | Photos | Coaches | Contacts | Home

website created and maintained by westsidesolutions.net