Spencerport Wrestilng on Facebook Spencerport Wrestling on Twitter

2013- 2014 Articles
Teike-Bernabi Tournament:
Teike/Bernabi wrestling tournament
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Friday, December 27, 2013

Teike/Bernabi wrestling tournament
Rochester Democrat and Chronicle
Saturday, December 28, 2013

Sectionals Tournament:
Six locals win Class A wrestling

Daily Messenger
Sunday, February 9, 2014

Six locals win Class A wrestling titles
Dan Goldman . February 9, 2014

Spencerport's Tahj Eaddy, right, wrestles against Victor's Stevie Hetelekides in the 138-pound final. Eaddy won 10-7.
Dan Goldman | Messenger Post Media
CANANDAIGUA — Although neither Canandaigua or Victor could top Brockport for the Section 5 Class A team championship, the two teams were pleased with their overall showings. Four Victor wrestlers and two Canandaigua wrestlers walked away with their first sectional titles Saturday at Canandaigua Academy.

Brockport won with a team score of 248.5. They were followed by Spencerport (201.5), Canandaigua (169.5), Victor (155), Webster Thomas (132), Irondequoit (120), Brighton (85), Churchville-Chili (40), McQuaid (18) and Eastridge (16).

Brockport coach Mike Ferris was named the Class A coach of the year. Victor's Mike Venosa was named the most outstanding wrestler for the lower weights and Spencerport's Trent Egenlauf was named the most outstanding wrestler for the upper weights. Venosa won the 113-pound championship with a 4-2 win over Brockport's Mike Marchetti. Egenlauf won the 195-pound championship by pinning Webster Thomas' Hayden Maltese in 1:24.

Victor's Jaime Dattilo won a 3-0 decision over Spencerport's Mike Wicks to win at 106. He recorded an escape and takedown in the second period.

Teammate Kevin Marcano won a 7-5 decision over over Spencerport's Brandon Barrett in overtime at 120. Marcano scored two points late in the third period to tie the match and recorded a takedown in overtime.

"It feels good," the junior said. "But at the same time, I have a lot of stuff to work on for next week."

Victor's TD Ierlan won by technical fall, 18-2, over Brockport's Spencer Mulligan at 132.

"It feels good, it's a relief, it's like a big weight was lifted off my shoulders being the No. 1 seed," Ierlan said. "We all worked hard. It's not just me, it's all my teammates who pushed me in the room. It's more of a team win for me."

Canandaigua's Vinny Romeo won a 3-1 decision over Webster Thomas' Ian Salathiel at 145. The senior had been in the finals twice in past years. Romeo recorded an escape and takedown immediately after to score his points in the second period. He yelled out to his friends in the crowd after recording the win.

Teammate Mitch Fisher won a 6-2 decision over Victor's Kyle Collins at 170.

"It feels great, I've worked so hard for four years and I know Vinny has worked hard for so long too," he said. "Being partners with him, it just makes this sort of a happy ending to our senior year."

Brockport's Cody Anders won a 12-5 decision over Spencerport's Tyler Mitchell at 99. Teammate Barton Peters won an 8-6 decision over Canandaigua's Nate Gilligan at 126 and Ryan Mattison won a 3-1 decision over Irondequoit's Cameron Rohr at 285.

Churchville-Chili's Sam Eagan won a major decision, 13-3, over Brockport's Cameron Calderelli at 220.

Spencerport's Tahj Eaddy won a 10-7 decision over Victor's Stevie Hetelekides at 138. Teammate Kyle Pittman won a 9-5 decision over Brighton's Eli Horowitz at 152, Kyle Melnyk won a 3-2 decision over Webster Thomas' Dakota Lockwood and Collin Pittman pinned Irondequoit's Terry Whaley in 2:21 at 182.

Victor is sending 13 wrestlers on to Super Sectionals next weekend and Canandaigua is sending 10.
Spencerport Central Schools • 71 Lyell Avenue • Spencerport, NY 14559 • Phone: 585-349-5000

Teams | Records | Schedule | Rankings | Articles | Photos | Coaches | Contacts | Home

website created and maintained by westsidesolutions.net